West Indian Championship Fourth Round

Anthony Bramble, photo courtesy Flickr

January, 15th 2019

The fourth round of the West Indian Championship featured just two matches as Leeward Islands Hurricanes and Barbados Pride enjoyed a bye round. Guyana Jaguars continued on the path of a runaway freight train with a compelling eight wicket win over Windwards Volcanoes. Jaguars batting first posted 494 for 9 declared, as Anthony Bramble scored his second consecutive century, 168. Tagnarine Chanderpaul carried his bat for 119 not out and Romario Shepherd 72. Josh Thomas was the pick of the bowlers with 4 for 94 and Ray Jordan had 2 for 56. Volcanoes replied with 209 all out, Alick Athanaze 66 and Denis Smith 37. Keemo Paul spearhead the Jaguars’ assault with 6 for 57 alongside Veerasammy Permaul 2 for 38 and Shepherd 2 for 47.

Asked to follow on Volcanoes posted a gallant 361 with Kirk Edwards 138 reminding Caribbean fans of his caliber. Devon Smith 65, and Denis Smith 67 supported the resistance as the Jaguars were set 117 for victory. Paul roared again with 4 for 72, Gudesh Motie had two wickets, with Shepherd, Permaul and Sherfane Rutherford claiming a wicket each. Shirmon Hetmyer scored 61 off 28 balls as Guyana galloped to the target in only 18 overs and three balls.

In the cellar clash at Sabina Park, Kingston Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago Red Force notched their first win this season to stem a hemorrhage of six consecutive defeats. Jamaica Scorpions were on the losing end for the third round in a row, to now sit as the only win-less team after four rounds. Red Force batting first, posted a modest 203 with only a rearguard 78 run eight wicket partnership between Yanick Cariah 61 and Khary Pierre 35 bailing out the Trinbagonians. Nikita Miller was the chief destroyer with 5 for 62 after Rovmon Powell 3 for 40 has dented the Red Force earlier. Oshane Thomas snared 2 for 30. Scorpions had no sting in the tail like Trinidad and Tobago did, as they were demolished for 112. Chadwick Walton scored 35 as he resisted, Anderson Phillips 3 for 26, Khary Pierre 2 for 7, Odean Smith 2 for 14 and Daniel St Clair 2 for 40.

With a first innings lead of 91 Red Force scored 233 to post a moderate target of 325. For Trinidad and Tobago a number of batsmen played cameo innings with Khary Pierre 46 and Darren Bravo 38 the best of the lot. Nikita Miller nabbed 7 for 87 to complete a 12 wicket haul. In reply the Scorpions were out of venom as they succumbed for 167. Only debutant Oraine Williams (56) and Assad Fudadin 35 not out, showed any semblance of a fight. Imran Khan proved the perfect antidote to quell the Scorpions sting as he bagged 5 for 59 with Khary Pierre (3/29) again playing a supporting role to complete a 157 run win for Trinidad and Tobago.

Oraine Williams 52 Jamaica Scorpions
Tagnarine Chanderpaul 117* Guyana Jaguars
Kirk Edwards 138 Windwards Volcanoes Captain
Yanick Cariah 61 Trinidad and Tobago Red Force
Anthony Bramble 168 Guyana Jaguars Player of the Round
Romario Shepherd 72 Guyana Jaguars
Khary Pierre 35, 2/7, 46 & 3/29 Trinidad and Tobago Red Force
Keemo Paul 6/57 & 4/72 Guyana Jaguars
Imran Khan 5/59 Trinidad and Tobago Red Force
Josh Thomas 4/94 Windwards Volcanoes
Miller 5/62 & 7/87 Jamaica Scorpions

This entry was posted in Headlines. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your View

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s