Challengers Lift 1st Trophy in 2012: Millat T20

By Dyon Ravello

April 16th 2012

Millat T20 continued last Saturday at Marine Park with eight teams vying for semifinal places. In the morning quarterfinals, defending Brooklyn League champs Punjab were dumped by Brooklyn Stars, Challengers advanced at the expense of Travel Treat and Panthers strolled past Brooklyn Knights.

In the key match between ACA Dragons and Shaheen, saw the host Shaheen winning the toss and Taking first strike. Shaheen batsmen kept the scoring rate up but posted no great partnerships. After their allotted 20 overs Shaheen amassed a competitive total of 168, on the back on 29 by Jahazab and Adnan 22. Bowling for ACA Hugh Craig did his work following up on last weeks performance with 2 for 13 off is four over he was supported by right arm fast bowling allrounder Hugo D’oliviera with 2 wickets and Captain Ravello with 1 wickets.

Craig picked 2 for 12 for ACA Dragons, v. Shaheen

The chase started slowly after the loss of an early wicket and some very disciplined bowling by the Shaheen attack. However ACA recovered with a well crafted partnership between Sean Stanislaus and Kevin “Rohan” Fraser, with Stanislaus scoring 23 runs off 14 balls. After Stanislaus’ departure ACA kept up the momentum but were hampered by the continuous procession of batsmen to and from the middle. By the time Rohan was the eighth wicket run out for a well played 47 of 33 balls the match was still even keel. Dragons with last wicket pair at the crease needing 7 runs for 3 balls could only whimper as Craig was the last man out off the last delivery still 6 runs short. Jawad three wicket haul surely a man of the match performance.

In the afternoon, Challengers turned back Shaheen, while Panther got pass Brooklyn Stars. On Sunday in the Championship match. Challengers were restricted to 124 by the Panthers. With the Panthers having no answer routed for 55, Challengers taking the first trophy of the 2012 season.

The T20 frenzy continues this weekend April 21st, with the inaugural Baynazeer Bhutto Memorial T20 see flyer below for more details.

This entry was posted in Headlines, Match Day, News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your View

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s