Can Jamaica Dent Team T&T In CT20 Opener

by Dyon Ravello,

Jamaica have swept all the Caribbean silverware up for grabs, all but one. The T20 prizes has only been shared by Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana both from the Southern Caribbean. Tamar Lambert will be keen to add the Caribbean T20 prize to the cabinets at Sabina as it comes with qualification to the Champions League.

Can Gabriel fill the Rampaul void

Can Gabriel fill the Rampaul void

Without the reggae nation’s twp premier batsmen Marlon Samuels and Chris Gayle the task seems more challenging. Surprisingly though Jamaica’s record five consecutive seasons at the helm of the regional four day competition, have come with minimal contribution from the globetrotting heavyweights. Lambert will be able to rely on the experience of seasoned campaigners like, Nkrumah Bonner, David Bernard Jr, Odean Brown, Sheldon Cotterell, Andre Russell, Nikita Miller and Krishmar Santokie. New faces have been add to the squad, John Campbell, Yannick Elliott, Jermaine Merchant, Andre Mc Carthy, and Aldane Thomas completing the line up

As the Northerners attempt to rock the Trinibagonians they will have to take on an almost full strenght contingent. The defending champs who have made the shortest format the version of choice in recent time with be will the IPL stars, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, and Kevon Cooper, but not Keiron Pollard. Pollard will be on his way back from the Big Bash and will be available for Game 2 against Combine College Campuses.

Trinidad and Tobago will be well aware of the challenges at hand with the field reinforcing its artillery. Jamaica is just the initial hurdle with Guyana and Barbados toning up to dethrone the co-host. Ramdin’s troop will be eager to sweep the field in an attempt to make amends of the 2012 Champions League T20 flop. A change in format had been set for more fierce competition with each squad facing off before the semifinals. The slightest of errors will cost Champs and Challengers alike in the quest for CT20 and Champions League glory.

Vote of the Winner on the Opening night:

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your View

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s