Windies PCL Team of the 4th Round


Christopher Barnwell scored 79 and took 5 wickets

The fourth round concluded with just one centurion, the least this season. There were consistent performances by the spinners  while there was a welcomed return for speedster Sheldon Cottrell. There were many contenders for batting places on the team of the week probably the most competitive thus far. With seamers and fast bowlers picking up a large percentage of the wickets compared to previous rounds.

Jamaica Scorpions were made to work for their third consecutive victory as the Leewards Hurricanes were relegated to their fourth straight defeat this season. Wicketkeeper Jahmar Hamilton scored 51 in the first innings to resist Cottrell’s 5fer on return to first class cricket, as he was supported by Nikita Miller with 4/53. Scorpions left it to the lower order to do the bulk of the batting with Carlton Baugh topscoring with 73. Miller showed his all-rounder ability with 51 of his own. Offspinner Rahkeen Cornwall had 4/76. Shane Jeffers scored 62 with 52 from Orlando Peters as Hurricanes posted a lead. Miller returned with the ball a second time to scalp 4/71. Scorpions were lead home by skipper Paul Palmer 51 to compete a dodgy three wicket victory.

Barbados Pride returned to winning ways as they dismissed the Windwards Volcanoes. For the Pride Kyle Corbin 68 and the in form Sharmarh Brooks 51 led the batting with wickets for Liam Sebastien 4/68 and three each for Shane Shillingford and Dalton Polius. Sebastien scored 47 to rally the lower order as the Volcanoes conceded a first innings lead of 117. Captain Kevin Stoute continued his stellar form with the ball for the Pride this season with 4/30 supported by quick Miguel Cummins who had 3 wickets. Brooks added 66 to his first innings half century, while Roston Chase scored 71 to add to his first innings 35. Sebastien added two more scalps and Shillingford three. Volcanoes got start from Tyrone Theophille 47, Miles Bascombe 40 and Johnson Charles 44 but were undone by the spin of Sulieman Benn 6/55. Chase chipped in with two wickets to complete a resounding 181 run win for the Pride.

Guyana Jaguars continued their rampant dominance with an innings victory over Trinidad and Tobago Red Force. Red Force batting first needed lower order knocks from Marlon Richards and debutante Uthman Muhammad, 53 each to post a respectable first innings total. The Red Force top order was rocked by the seam of Christopher Barnwell 5/32. In response the runs just kept flowing for the Jaguars with a century for Assad Fudadin (102), and half centuries for Leon Johnson 92, Shiv Chanderpaul 82, Raimon Reifer 64 and Barnwell 79. Batting a second time Red Force failed to surpass the Jaguars’ lead, with only Kyle Hope scoring 74 showing any resistance. Veerasammy Permaul scalped 5/62 to add to his 3/59 in the first innings and supported by Gudesh Moti-Kanhai 4/43. The Jaguars have opened up a 20 point lead following their four match winning streak.

Team of the 4th Round: Kyle Hope, Assad Fudadin, Leon Johnson (c), Sharmarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Christopher Barnwell, Carlton Baugh (wk) Nikita Miller, Liam Sebastien, Veerasammy Permaul and Sheldon Cottrell


This entry was posted in Headlines. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your View

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s